The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree

Out comes another mummy-type survey so once again the paper I work for tasked me with jotting down my thoughts on why I think I am turning more and more into my mum.

And I’m actually beginning to like the sound of my own voice… Ahem, writing!

“You are just like your mother”.

It is a phrase I hoped I would never hear during my lifetime. But unfortunately my husband Ben tells me it all too often and he is right, I am.

It seems this has become a fact of life that most of us are doomed to adhere to, revealed in a new survey by the UK’s largest parenting website Netmums.com which shows that a massive 86pc are worried that they are turning into their mums or dads.

At 28 years old it would appear I am an early starter, with the 1,092 parents quizzed pinpointing 32 as the most common age to begin acting like your own parents.

But it is not all bad (in fact my mum is great) and I think these “traits” are all part of being a parent. You find yourself embracing a common bond with all mums and dads who have come before – including your own.

One of the biggest tell-tale signs of being a mum is repeating annoying catchphrases your parents used to say and firm favourites I find myself saying to my four-year-old step-daughter include “what’s the magic word”, “put your shoes away” and “turn the telly down”.

Netmums.com founder Siobhan Freegard said she believed this survey revealed an eye-opening glimpse of the lives of modern parenting: “Parenting is the greatest leveller. Whatever your class or job or education, or wherever you live, if you’re a mum or dad you’ll do certain things which mark you out as a parent. Parenting brings out plenty of behaviours.”

As I read the list I found myself ticking off a whopping 32 out of 50 points (yes, it would appear that I display ‘dad’ traits too) and I am sure as my eight-month-old son Adam gets older it will be more.

So why don’t you give it a go (here: http://www.edp24.co.uk/news/take_the_test_just_how_much_are_you_turning_into_your_mum_or_dad_1_2348322) and see how many you can tick off.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

