The problem with weekends if you’re a writer

You know that Friday feeling, right?

You work your backside off all week waiting for your loved ones to clock off too so that you can spend the weekend together (sorry if you work shifts, my husband also works shifts and this was his first weekend off in a while) because you have amazing plans that you can’t wait to get stuck into.

Well this was our weekend and what a grand one it was. The kids are shattered and snoring away in bed as I type. My feet are crying out for a soak. And my belly is far too full from a yummy roast dinner. So why the glum title?

I am a writer.

Now instead of cracking on with the ironing while the TV keeps me company I’m staring at my laptop screen in despair over the lack of new words I have written this weekend. I had a lot to do too.

A short story needs finishing, the first draft of my novel needs completing and it’s probably best not to mention how the reading has gone this weekend either.

So here’s five top tips to make sure you keep writing, no matter how much fun you’re having with the family:

1. Stop blogging when you should be writing. In fact just do don’t do anything else when you should be writing (ahem…)

2. Get up an hour earlier than everyone else just to get a few words down at least. Do not be tempted to pop on the telly and watch a repeat of Homes Under the Hammer/Emmerdale omnibus.

3. Stock-up on energy drink – just for the weekend – to see you through. We all know sometimes coffee just doesn’t cut it.

4. If you have a child that is old enough to read get them to read your book to you while you do the housework/cook tea/fix the car/paint the spare bedroom and so on. Just make sure it’s something that isn’t going to give them nightmares. Note to self: Stephen King is probably not suitable for a six-year-old.

5. Grab every spare moment and make it count – really. I’m lucky as my two boys still nap so I try to be productive if they both end up having a nap at the same time. I also try to limit housework time in the evening to 30 minutes. It’s surprising how much you can clean with a deadline.

Until next weekend…

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The problem with weekends if you’re a writer

  1. Pingback: 11 Things (and maybe a couple of others too). | After The Rain

Leave a Reply

