The Writer’s Tag – things you didn’t know about me as a writer

  
So, another “about me” thing. I would like to say I won’t make a habit of it but I love, love, love them. Being a journalist I’m use to being the one always asking the questions so sometimes it’s nice to answer them instead.

Thank you for the open tag from Short & Snappy. You can read her answers here.

So here is a little insight into me as a writer and my writing world:

What do you write?

I typically write short stories and am currently working on a novel. I have also completed a first draft of a novel titled Bunny as part of NaNoWriMo.

What do you mostly write about?

I like to write about the dark side of life – gritty pieces. In real life I try to be positive and happy so I think the opposite feeling comes out in my writing. Got to. Got to vent somewhere right?

What’s your favorite thing about writing?

Reading something back I’ve written and enjoying it so much I’ve forgotten I  was the one who wrote it. Also being able to tell someone’s story and finding fresh and unique imagery to do so.

What/Who inspired you to start/keep writing?

My parents keep me inspired. They are always supporting me with my dreams, despite not having any real interest in books/writing themselves. Having them believe in me is enough. Also my boys. I do it for them.

Who’s your favorite character you’ve made up?

The novel I’m currently working on is about a rape survivor. It started off as her story but as it developed the voice of her father, who was struggling to deal with what had happened to his daughter, became really strong. He is probably one of my favorite characters  to date and I feel as if he writes himself.

When did you start writing?

I started writing poetry at the age of 11. I wrote a lot too but honestly I am still shit at it.

First story you wrote?

I wrote a short story for a high school assignment – what we want to be when we grow up. I made up this romantic tragic future in Paris. It gave me my passion for creative writing. It was a supply teacher who I have to thank for this. I don’t remember her name, only that she wore a hideous green suit.

Favorite story you wrote?

My NaNoWriMo novel Bunny. It’s utter bollocks but it’s my favourite thing I’ve written because it’s about my firstborn. Hopefully I can turn it into something decent in the future.

Do you have a writing schedule? Like, do you write every day or just when you feel like it?

No. I try to make a writing schedule but family life is very demanding. I usually will try and write in the evenings when the boys are asleep.

Do you want to be published?

Of course. The plan was to be publish before 30, but with less than a month till the big day that won’t happen now. I’m now aiming for 40.

If you’re a writer, and you want to do this tag, please do so and tag me so I can read your answers. Thanks for reading.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Writer’s Tag – things you didn’t know about me as a writer

  1. Pingback: The Writer’s Tag – That Girl Tess

  2. Pingback: The writer’s tag – Writers lifestyle

  3. Pingback: The Writer’s Tag – fablesandfae

  4. Pingback: Writer tag – I write. I live. I try.

Leave a Reply

