Today’s Twitter Trend – #TenThingsNotToSayToAWriter

Untitled

As I type, this is the UK’s current number one trend on Twitter and number four worldwide so of course I am compelled to say something about it.

And what better way to do it than with a blog?

So for all of those who would like to know here is my #TenThingsNotToSayToAWriter:

1. You’ve actually written a real novel?

2. Have you actually published anything yet?

3. I should have been a writer, I’ve got so many great ideas.

4. Would you read some of my stuff from high school sometime? I use to be really good at writing fifteen years ago.

5. I don’t read books. Ever.

6. I remember when you wrote poems at high school, do you still do that little writing thing?

7. Why don’t you write a story about me / my friend / my cat / my friend’s cat?

8. Aren’t you a clever girl then?

9. Haven’t you finished that novel yet?

10. What’s the point in writing? No one buys books anymore anyway, it’s all on the Kindle now…

On a happier note I’ve decided to add ten things to say to a writer to make them smile and feel a bit more worthwhile:

1. Would you like a cup of tea / chocolate / red bull?

2. Shall I shut the door for you while you’re working?

3. Tell me more about your book, it sounds really interesting.

4. What do you like writing about?

5. When did you start writing creatively?

6. What authors or books inspire you?

7. What are you currently writing about?

8. Have you heard about this new writing group / website / competition? Let me find the details for you.

9. I would like to publish your book.

10. (My husband only) Would you like me to read that for you honey?

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I’ve enjoyed reading #TenThingsNotToSayToAWriter on Twitter tonight.

Happy writing / blogging / tweeting.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

