I guess that’s why they call it the (writer’s) blues

This is a blank page...

This is a blank page…

It has been an amazing week for my writing.

On Friday I managed to complete a short story I had been working on for a while about sauce addiction. I also entered my first creative writing competition.

The next day, hungover, I waited for an email to come through at 5am which would tell me the guidelines I needed to use for the NYC Midnight’s Flash Fiction Challenge 2015. This is a competition that challenges writers around the world to create short stories (1,000 words max.) based on genre, location, and object assignments.

I had romance / a slum / a map.

I have never written romance in my life so needless to say it really was a challenge. There were tears, tantrums and wine but I manage to see it through and submitted my story before the deadline.

So much hype over the weekend, albeit rather stressful, so much to come down from this morning. Is there such a thing as Monday morning (writer’s) blues? Either way, I’m feeling rather uninspired.

This evening I have sat down with my calendar and marked down future competitions and writing events I would like to participate in but even that hasn’t brought me out of my mood.

It’s time for a TV night I think.

Please send any spare inspiration my way…

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I guess that’s why they call it the (writer’s) blues

  1. Pingback: Top ten problems a writer is faced with every day | NewshoundNovelist

Leave a Reply

