To Clean or not to Clean? That is the question… (Making Mess with Mummy)

11880325_904636802946513_2786711081073936073_n

“A big, bad snake.”

Here is my little man thoroughly enjoying an arts and craft session with mummy and paint.

A right little Picasso don’t you think?

Now before this photo fools you into thinking I am one of those “supermums” – managing to turn a blind eye to the mess being created by my budding artist – please think again.

I would like to say I regularly fish out the paints to spend an afternoon making wonderful creations for the whole family to enjoy, but in all seriousness, this is only the second time my son and I have painted together.

Yes he paints at nursery and yes we do a bit of colouring here and there (my husband/”Superdad” meanwhile is great at getting him to stick pictures in a scrapbook) but the whole joy of arts and craft is something rarely experienced in my house.

It’s not because I don’t want to do it, it’s just the overwhelming feeling of getting out the box full of supplies, making space on the dinning room table, helping with pen lids, stopping him eating crayons, stopping him throwing glitter glue, stopping him ripping up the coloring book. It’s. Over. Whelming.

I sometimes despair when the combination of Tiny Tumble/Something Special/Justin’s House/Gigglebiz pops up on the TV for the tenth time that day, when I know I should really be doing something more productive with my two-year-old. But sometimes the fear of the unknown is just too much to cope with.

I spy the dirty washing out of the corner of my eye, while thinking about the mass of yesterday’s plates piling up in the kitchen, and I think to myself “I wish I had the strength to say ‘sod it today’, I will put my son before the housework and I will not be scared to make more mess”. I guess that’s really what it comes down to. Do I make more mess for a few minutes of smiles or do I run away from doing something I think I will be rubbish at?

The answer is obvious I know. A two-year-old won’t mind the mess, nor will they mind if their painting of a snake is better than mummy’s attempt (although I was pretty pleased with my rainbow – see my video).

At the end of the day, a clean house might be nice to look at, but housework doesn’t create something as beautiful as this:

Big purple/green snake by Adam (two and a half years old)

Big purple/green snake by Adam (two and a half years old)

So never fear, Supermum isn’t here! It’s just little ol’ me, with a box of paints and a two-year-old who is ready to get stuck into the messy world of arts and crafts – no matter how bad we are (mummy is) at it.


This blog was created as part of my Blogging 101: Zero to Hero challenge.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Clean or not to Clean? That is the question… (Making Mess with Mummy)

  1. Pingback: Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 6 – Write to Your Dream Reader) | Newshound to Novelist

  2. Tara says:

    I found a way of doing this via Instagram which kills two birds with one stone. Let them paint in the bath which you then clean afterwards. No mess and a clean bath. Win! Freya loves it.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      That’s an AMAZING idea! Thanks for sharing Tara. You come up with great arts and craft ideas – I love the tutu post 🙂

Leave a Reply

