Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 7 – Start Personalising)

Blogging-pic2

This one has been quite an easy one for me today as I’ve already got stuck into personalising my blog – or so I thought.

Today’s assignment was to create and upload a simple header, background, or both. And if I’d already done this – which I had – to try a custom widget.

Some of this work was slightly halted by the fact I wasn’t able to update things unless I paid for a premium blog site. That is because of my choice of theme. As it turns out, I really do need to change my theme in order to update my header in the way I want to, bringing me right back to day five of Blogging 101. So let’s hold that thought and I will come back to that another time.

As for custom widgets, I have Twitter, Goodreads and a handful of others. I think it’s important not to have too many and I’m pleased with the ones I have chosen. I hope they enhance the blog rather than distract from it.

Thanks again Blogging 101. Anyone else had problems accessing this today?

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 7 – Start Personalising)

  1. David Morris says:

    What a relief to find someone else struggling with blog design, why is everything the learning curve of a cliff face?
    Like the header photograph – keep going

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Yes it’s not as straight forward as it seems, that’s for sure. I love that description btw – I never heard that before so will have to remember it 😊 thanks for your words of encouragement. The photo was taken when my mum and I went on a hot air balloon ride!

  2. Grace Anne says:

    I felt the same way!! “Uh.. I already personalized my site before day seven came up” 😀 😀
    Your header is looking damn good 🙂 🙂

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Aw thanks! I’ve had a nice long play about with it now so hopefully I won’t have to change it again anytime soon!

      • Grace Anne says:

        Nice!! Don’t be afraid of changing it up as many times as you like!! Change is good 🙂 🙂 🙂

      • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

        Thank you – that is good advice. I think I fear changing it too much in case the people who are familiar with my blog are put off. I’m enjoying tweaking a few things though 🙂

  3. Pingback: Blogging 101 (new) | Newshound to Novelist

Leave a Reply

