My Pledge: Thirty Things to do in my Thirtieth Year (#30thingsat30)

Happy 30th birthday to me...

Happy 30th birthday to me…

I won’t bore you with the emotional ramblings of a 29-year-old (trust me, my poor friends and family have suffered enough already). Instead I am going to excite you with how I am turning my wrinkly-frown, upside down – without Botox.

The day has finally come. The big 3-0. A new decade is here. Well, at least it will be here on Monday.

It seems to have crept up on me far too silently and far too quickly – perhaps I’ve been having such a good time I never noticed? Whatever the reason, I can’t escape it now.

My husband has been asking me for months what would I like as a present and what would I like to do to mark the occasion? Honestly though, I cannot think of a single thing I want. Grab the sick bag but there is nothing that money can buy me right now that would do this milestone justice.

So I’ve decided to give myself something instead. A fantastic 30th year.

I really didn’t want this birthday to come but instead of feeling sorry for myself, I want to look back at this time and remember it being filled with hopes and achievements. So I give you:

Thirty Things to do in my Thirtieth Year:

  1. Finish a first draft of my work-in-progress
  2. Win something in the field of writing
  3. Finish Writing for Children online course
  4. Finish writing story book for children
  5. Apply to do my masters
  6. Finish landscaping my garden
  7. Write creatively every day for a year
  8. Take my sons to the library once a month
  9. Take my sons swimming once a month
  10. Raise £300 for the charity Crohn’s and Colitis UK
  11. Volunteer for something
  12. Go to a literary festival
  13. Visit a London museum with my family
  14. Do the allotment with my dad (even if it’s just keeping it tidy)
  15. Lose three stone (and be happy if I only lose two)
  16. Start making a note of my family tree
  17. Finish filling in the boys’ baby books (both of them)
  18. Print and frame a large photo from our wedding day and hang it in the house
  19. Finish (and start) making a patchwork quilt out of the boys’ baby clothes
  20. Do the reverse 52-week money challenge
  21. Meet up with a friend for a cuppa and a (proper) catch-up bi-monthly
  22. Come up with (at least) one really great article idea for work once a month
  23. Pay off the credit card
  24. Go and spend an afternoon doing a jigsaw with my grandad Jimmy
  25. Pay for my parents to go on holiday with us
  26. See Metallica sing Nothing Else Matters live
  27. Book a weekend away with the husband
  28. Frame my graduation photo and certificate
  29. Do the #100happydays thing
  30. I will leave number 30 blank for now (please feel free to share ideas)

Wow – that’s a whopper of a list. It took me more than an hour to write it too. Wish me luck!

In a bid to make sure I achieve this, in the near-future I will be posting this under a separate header on my blog. For now, I feel rather drained just looking at it.

Roll on 30. I have a feeling it’s going to be a big year.

#30thingsat30

(In the end, the husband decided on a birthday meal out and tickets to the Dirty Dancing musical. One happy wife.)

*This post was inspired by day nine of Blogging 101.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

