Little Fairy World (My Sunday Photo – Week 5)

And I serve the Fairy Queen, To dew her orbs upon the green; -- William Shakespeare

“And I serve the Fairy Queen,
To dew her orbs upon the green.”
— William Shakespeare.

These are the things of magic.

At least that’s what I thought to myself this week when I stumbled upon this beautiful sight in Cawston graveyard (I live in the village and was walking to a friend’s house when I saw it).

However, according to the Royal Horticultural Society, they are not magic but in fact quite normal.

Its website has lots of information about fairy rings and I have complied a list of my favourite facts.

Fairy rings

  • Fairy rings are a fungal infection that sometimes cause circular rings of toadstools in lawns.
  • The scientific name is Marasmius oreades
  • They usually occur in late summer and autumn.
  • The fungi, which are spread by airborne spores liberated from the toadstools, form colonies below ground in the root zone of the turf. Most cause little damage and are only noticed when they produce fresh toadstools.

It’s amazing what you can find while out for a walk. Little did I know it would turn out to be my biggest inspiration for this week’s #MySundayPhoto.

Thanks again to our host OneDad3Girls.

70945-sundaylge-e1396359989177

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little Fairy World (My Sunday Photo – Week 5)

  1. Tara says:

    I think they are magical, ignore what the internet says 🙂 #MySundayPhoto

  2. Sonya says:

    I’m with you – pure magic 🙂

Leave a Reply

