My Life in Flowers

I’m not sure if it’s an age thing but now that I am 30, and a home owner, I find myself enjoying the garden more and more.

A big part of that enjoyment is daydreaming about how I would like it to look and thinking about what flowers I want to plant in it.

I recently explored some new blogs (see why here) and the photo attached to the post Take a Moment to Ponder over at Home Grown Heaven reminded me of my late nanny Dot. Smells, sounds, phrases – all of these things conjure up special memories. And the more I thought about it, the more I realised flowers do to.

So here you have it – a light, fun post for you all to enjoy today.


My top five memorable flowers:

  1. Orchids.
    11890982_908839085859618_781052249664879880_n
    These flowers have been the mantra for my journalism career since the start. When I started my NCTJ course to become a reporter, we were asked to do a mock exam in reporting. We were given a number of facts about a gardening club needing more volunteers, all in order to write an article. There was one tiny line hidden away in the information about one of the volunteers finding a rare orchid while helping out. I managed to use that information and come up with a cracking intro for my story. I was the only one in my class who spotted it. I was thrilled. Ever since then, I always ask myself if I have found the rare orchid in my story.
  2. Carnations.
    11220890_908961119180748_8930392075739178626_n
    These will always hold a special place in my heart as they are actually my mum’s favourite. She had a small bunch of them on top of her wedding cake.
  3. Hydrangeas.
    11895109_908961642514029_6465474351282014672_o
    As you will see in my comment to Home Grown Heaven, these remind me of my nanny Dot. She always had them in the garden and I remember thinking how much they got in my way. My nan’s grew to a phenomenal size and a variety of shades could be discovered from blues and purples to bright pink.
  4. Lilies.
    11879054_908840392526154_6682684970933803054_o
    The smell is what first attracted me to lilies. I also find it fascinating how its pollen stains. These, along with roses, are the flowers I had in my wedding bouquet (as pictured).
  5. Roses.
    11898667_908856819191178_3607553420367700506_n
    What girl doesn’t love roses? From my first glimpse of Disney’s magical one in Beauty and the Beast, to throwing one in with my late cousin’s coffin, roses have continued to be rather a powerful flower in today’s society and my life. More recently my husband bought me six beautiful red roses for my 30th birthday (as pictured). And before that he bought me some for Valentine’s Day and others in many different colours. The house where we now live had a sole rose growing in our garden too. It’s a cliché but I really do love roses.

Thank you for reading. I would love to know if any flowers have a special meaning for you too.

#MyLifeInFlowers

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Life in Flowers

  1. Pingback: Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 12 – Be Inspired By the Community) | Newshound to Novelist

  2. Fun Simplicity says:

    I love looking at flowers from afar. They look beautiful. But I can’t go near as I have sensitive nose. They’ll send my nose “running” for the rest of the day. 😀

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Oh no! You won’t be able to enjoy the smell of lilies then! Hasn’t hay fever/pollen been bad this year mind you?

      • Fun Simplicity says:

        There aren’t many flowers around my area. So that’s not too bad 🙂 I always keep some antihistamine with me, just in case. 🙂

  3. It is so strange how our preferences and hobbies can change with time and under different circumstances. As I moved into my own flat, I started to like cooking and cleaning itself as well.

Leave a Reply

