Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 14 – Deeper into the Blogosphere)

11873547_908732895870237_6439544411358958767_n

I find myself noticing lots of blog posts on a variety of social media these days. Perhaps, before I started my own blog I already clicked on the links before realising they lead me to a blog. Either way, I’m really enjoying the wealth of knowledge I am discovering in Blogosphere.

Today’s assignment is to spend some time reading through the topics I follow, and to follow five more blogs and/or topics that intrigued me as I read.

So while my baby boys napped today (they are so in sync; I’m a lucky mummy!) I used the time to my advantage to enjoy some blog reading.

I started with the topic wprightnow, looking for responses to current events, in the hope of finding some peace following the murder of the journalists in Virginia.

I came across Greg Fallis, who has blogged the post It seems some mass shootings aren’t mass enough, and Quinn’s Commentary post entitled When are too many gun deaths too many? – both made for interesting reading.

As a journalist, this has really affected me emotionally and is playing on my mind a lot. I plan to write my own blog post about this soon so it was great to read what others are thinking about at the moment.

Moving on to something a bit lighter, and that’s books. I know I’ve been neglecting my reading list (something I now plan to catch-up on during my two week holiday) but thanks to the blog 52 Books I’ve been inspired once again. There’s some great recommendations here and hat’s off to this chappy for sticking at it. It’s not easy to find the time to read these days.

Then I found this little beauty, Emslf , over at A Few of My Favourite Things. As a mum of boys, it is so hard to find cute things for them to wear. I go into children’s clothing departments and the amount of stuff (yes, I’m classing it as “stuff”) that is available to girls is shocking – especially compared with the lack of clothing available to boys.

My point? This. I’m not usually so materialistic but this is a must-have. Thanks for posting this Emslf!

Right, so that was four new blogs found. I am now following them and look forward to reading their latest posts.

The final one I stumbled upon was 777 Peppermint Place and I have included it for no other reason than how beautiful I thought it was. Basic, but the colours, images and font all work really well together. Something I will keep in my mind for when I next start “jushing up” my blog site.

So thanks Blogging 101: Zero to Hero, I’ve had the time to enjoy exploring today.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 14 – Deeper into the Blogosphere)

  1. Thank you so much for the compliment, Donna. I’ve played with the appearance of 777 Peppermint Place for years–a cyber style of playing dress-up, I suppose. Thanks for visiting.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I imagine I will be the same. There’s so much to do and change on it. All very time consuming though, as I’m sure you well know. Thanks for commenting 😊

  2. EmsLF says:

    Thanks for sharing! Shopping for boys is sooo hard and I love blogging my finds 🙂

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Ah I’m glad to have met a fellow mum-of-boys who struggles with the shop! I thought it was just me 😆

  3. Pingback: Blogging 101 (new) | Newshound to Novelist

Leave a Reply

