If I Could… What Would You Do?

11902429_911198315623695_7065120821510987887_n

I’ve been tagged by Tara at After The Rain to answer a series of “If I Could…” questions, which was started by Jocelyn at The Reading Residence.


If I could live anywhere…

In 2004 I fled to Wales to university, in the hope of escaping all things Norfolk. I wanted to spread my wings and have an adventure. Within weeks I was homesick. I managed to see the three years out, and was really happy during my stay there, but as soon as uni was over I moved back to Norfolk with a new-found appreciation of it. So if I could live anywhere, I would live right here. Well, that’s if we are talking about the county and village. Of course I’d like a bigger house, and I could actually tell you the number and road it’s on (in the village where I live), but for now I am happy at home.

If I could have any garden…

11903812_911198602290333_773937440887664205_n

I’m not usually so greedy but any garden? It if was looked after for me (and I didn’t have to pay anyone to look after it) it would be Marie Antoinette’s village from the Palace of Versailles in France (This is where my husband and my then nine-month-old eldest are in the top picture). Or I’d love the garden from Frances Hodgson Burnett’s Secret Garden. As long as either had a little shed at the bottom of the garden so I could write there, then I’d be in garden heaven.

If I could be on holiday right now…

I would be in Paris. I’ve always loved the country, especially its capital. I buy into all the cliched romance and it’s where my husband proposed to me (find about more about my love for Paris here).

If I could have any job…

I’d be a full time author. I’d still want to keep my finger in the journalism pie, mind you.

If I could have any talent…

I would love to be able to sing. I use to have lessons, performed in every musical in high school and even took music GCSE. I got by… But I’m no Katherine Jenkins.

If I could live any day again…

11879054_908840392526154_6682684970933803054_o

I would live my wedding day. Not to change anything but because it was such a glorious day. Everyone said to me “it will be the happiness day of your life” and I would look at them with pity and reply “I hope not, I want many more happier days with my husband!” but now I know what they meant.

My little family has had beautiful moments, from the birth of my two sons, celebrating exam passes, job successes and special occasions. But our whole wedding day was absolute magic. I would love to live that day again (okay so I might eat more cake but that’s all I’d change).

If I could have any superpower…

I don’t even have to think about this one, I always give the same answer! My superpower would be the ability to never need sleep, only to have it if I wanted it. I would be INSOMNIA GIRL!


Thanks again for the tag Tara. I really enjoyed this. Sorry it took me so long to reply.

I’m now going to tag some other bloggers to take part. Please pingback so I can read your answers. Sorry if you’ve done it or don’t want to do it, please ignore if so.

  1. Becoming Death author Melissa Brown

2. Jen at Jen’s Pen Den (not sure if you do these on your blog or not Jen)

3. The Mom Who Runs

Haven’t been tagged and want to do it? Please feel free to join in anyway and let me know you’ve done it.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If I Could… What Would You Do?

  1. Tara says:

    Norfolk is the best. We’re very lucky to live in such a lovely county, especially me as I wasn’t born here. Thanks for joining in 🙂

Leave a Reply

