The Wizard Maze (My Sunday Photo – Week 5)

11903701_911074162302777_8074637205591387004_n

If there’s one thing I love about living in rural Norfolk, it’s the opportunity to visit quirky, seasonal, pop-up places like this.

Once a year, when the sun is at its fullest and the magic crop-growing fairies sprinkle their dust, up sprouts a field of maize – perfect for 12-acre maize maze fun! And in a small corner of north Norfolk, in a little place called Metton, that’s exactly what happens.

For the past twelve years, the Harrison family have run Wizard Maze (you can find out more about its history here) but for my little family, it was our first visit to the summer spectacular. Judging by the smiles on the faces of my boys, you can guess what sort of time we had here.

11259586_911074282302765_4935136318584384075_n

As well as the maze itself, there are giant jumping pillows, a straw bale mountain, a sand pit, ride-on toddler tractors, electric quad bikes, stocks, age appropriate play areas, livestock and the highlight – although not for my bum – a tractor with trailer-tubs for a ride around a muddy field!

You also get a stamp sheet to fill in while walking around the maze, with the aim of figuring out what the word is once you have found all the letters (this year’s theme is farming). After a quick dash inside the maze again, with my sister, we (eventually) managed to find all the letters to spell out the word… Gotcha! I’m not that silly.

Inside the maze there is also a small platform area to admire the size of the thing – even my 6″1 husband couldn’t see over the top over the maize – and it’s quite impressive when you see the size of it.

Catering is also better than what you might expect for somewhere in the middle of nowhere. There is limited hot food, drinks, cold cans and ice creams and sold not at a bad price to be fair.

This really was a great day out for all ages. As well as my little family, my parents, grandad and sister, all came along for the ride too (although mum was the only one who dared to join me and the eldest boy in the tractor trailer tubs).

It’s just such a wholesome family-fun day out (picnics welcomed) and, with one week left until it closes, I strongly suggest a visit if you’re in the area.

You can find more about it, such as opening times and prices, here.

Thanks to OneDad3Girls for hosting #MySundayPhoto. It was a blast this week.

70945-sundaylge-e1396359989177

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wizard Maze (My Sunday Photo – Week 5)

  1. Tara says:

    Oooh, I think Freya would like this. I wonder how busy it will be tomorrow, if it’s open. I’ll go and look. Lovely pics. Your boys looked like they loved it 🙂 #MySundayPhoto

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Does it say on the website if it’s open or not? I would hope it would be considering it’s only seasonal. I’m sure she would love it. Enter the maze with water and snacks though! I probably should have mentioned this on my post 😉

  2. that sounds like terrific family fun. well done!

  3. How awesome, this sounds like so much fun

    Thank you for linking up

Leave a Reply

