Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 19 – Try a New Posting Style)

11873547_908732895870237_6439544411358958767_nPlease excuse my lack of communication. I am away at the moment with limited internet signal. As some pop star once said though, “you can’t hold me down” (Christina? Rihanna? Help me here people…).

Well enough time has already been wasted so on with today’s assignment. To build my storyteller toolbox by publishing a post in another format or a style I’ve never used before.

As I blog from a bar, with my husband and a malibu and lemonade, I can’t help but think that this in itself is a “format” that never happens in my everyday life – so what can I convey in a blog post instead?

As a married couple with two young children this is a rare moment of quality time spent together in peace and quiet. I should be talking to him really. In fact, that’s what I am going to do.

I talk about being a journalist on my blog quite a lot but I never blog as a journalist. Well tonight, for one night only (or maybe not), I am newshound not novelist. Here is my interview with my husband and why he loves his job.


11903812_911198602290333_773937440887664205_n

My husband Ben, with our youngest Adam (as a baby) and me.

Name: Ben

Age: 27 (yes he’s younger than me, let’s move on)

Job: Student Paramedic

Why did you decide to be a paramedic?

The women and the money (jokes). I really enjoy helping people, getting out and about, and being my own boss – to a certain extent. It’s exciting and I hate doing a nine to five job.

What is the best part about being a paramedic?

When you feel like you’ve made a difference.

And something a little less cliched…

The respect when the door opens up – having people trust me is important – the privilege of just being invited into people’s homes without them questioning me.

How hard is the training?

It’s intense. Intense is the word I’d use over hard. Even coming from a background of the NHS it’s still a lot of information and lots of skills to learn in a relatively small amount of time – but it is enjoyable.

What would you say to someone considering becoming a paramedic?

Don’t (more jokes). Make sure you know what you’re getting into because it’s not the job you think it’s going to be sometimes. It’s an awful lot of poo, vomit and wee involved on a day to day basis. Very little trauma (and by that I mean road traffic accidents and similar events).

Anything you’d like to add?

It’s a career for life and the people you train with have the potential to become friends for life. The people you work with will become almost like family. You will meet amazing people out on the road and see incredible sights you wouldn’t believe.

Ends.


This is just a snap shot of what my husband does (and a very basic, malibu-induced interview) so thanks for reading.

And thanks, as always, to Blogging 101 for your day nineteen prompt. Doing an interview is not something I’d normally think of doing for my blog but perhaps should be something I do more often.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 19 – Try a New Posting Style)

  1. Tara says:

    What a great interview. Nice to learn more about Ben 🙂

  2. Pingback: Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 21 – Build on Your New-To-You Post) | Newshound to Novelist

  3. Pingback: Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 21 – Build on Your New-To-You Post) | Newshound to Novelist

Leave a Reply

