Writing 101 (Day 4 – “Window” prompt)

11960190_916648971745296_8290975424294727290_n

Using the day 4 Writing 101 prompt, we were asked to write something inspired by a photo. I chose a window. Something about the image reminded me of the book Flowers in the Attic, so that’s where I set my story – in an attic.

Please find my short story and the photo below.


GOMY9CQSvmjKLxigsfxg_Attic

The Window

By Donna-Louise Bishop

The little window upstairs in the attic use to open.

Bright sunlight would pour through the gap like honey trickling through a stack of American pancakes. Warm and inviting, the attic use to be a place where special memories were made.

Now the house was quiet; all the children had grown up and left to start their own families. No longer were there rainy day games of hide and seek up there, no more pretend “schools”, no more hunting through empty boxes to find old toys and puzzles from a happy youth.

When the wood of the little window frame upstairs in the attic started to rot, someone came to paint it shut.

Now it was protected for a little longer but its fate was sealed.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing 101 (Day 4 – “Window” prompt)

  1. Vibrant says:

    It’s a very beautiful story.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Anand 🙂

  2. ydandgavhal says:

    Reminds me of the thrill in childhood games played in isolated places within premises of house and school…

  3. Sonya says:

    Now you made me feel sorry for a window! 🙂

  4. Jules says:

    Loved your short story! I also write short stories as well.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thank you! I’m really enjoying writing shorter pieces at the moment, to keep the creative cogs turning until I head back to my WIP 🙂

Leave a Reply

