Girl from NZ (Week 10 – My Sunday Photo)

 A Girl From NZ

By Donna-Louise Bishop

There was a girl who moved to New Zealand,

When she left for new seas and sand,

Her friends and family missed her lots,

She hadn’t even met their tots!

But nearly three years on and the reunion was grand.

*

This week’s My Sunday Photo was inspired by my friend Leanne, which in turn inspired me to write a little limerick.

Hopefully you get the gist of it but basically my friend of more than 15 years moved to New Zealand three years ago.

She moved about a month before my eldest was due and although we’ve always chatted on Skype – with my babies – this photo shows the first time she met them in person (this week).

It’s not easy to maintain any relationship long distance and it’s even harder to make-up if arguments happen. The best thing to do is to grow together, not apart, and cherish the few moments you have together.

So here you have it; it’s been three years in the making but this is #MySundayPhoto this week.

Thanks to OneDad3Girls for hosting.

70945-sundaylge-e1396359989177

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Girl from NZ (Week 10 – My Sunday Photo)

  1. Beautiful photo, so much love and happiness in this photo

    Thank you for linking up

  2. The words hits close to home. I havent seen mu family in 5 years and my parents havent seen my son too so when I return home its going to be grand!

    Lovely expressions captured in the photo =)

    #mysundayphoto

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thank you for your comments Merlinda. You must miss your family very much. I bet you’ll all have a FAB reunion! #mysundayphoto

  3. that is a lovely photo. yes it is so hard to keep up relationships even when you live in the same suburb much less worlds away.

Leave a Reply

