Too many ideas and not enough time

cropped-11836746_901894269887433_7184023176030864213_n.jpg

I have fallen behind.

The ideas are there, the intentions are there and even the energy is there – but so is the housework.

I have really enjoyed writing this blog. It’s given me back my love of writing creatively. It’s made me, me again. The only problem is, I’ve fallen behind with life and this is something that cannot happen.

The family needs clean clothes, food on the table, stories read, paintings painted. This is all part of being a mum and a wife and I do enjoy it. But after seemingly being immune to it for so long, I’ve caught the writing bug again – and I’ve never felt better.

These days I am grumpy if I don’t write every evening. My family, especially my two-year-old, will remind me I have not been smiling lately. Go figure…

Tomorrow I will clean the office and get right back on that literary horse. Although, I wish it was that easy.

My creativity has been unlocked once more and now I don’t even know where to start!

Do I keep submitting my work into competitions? Do I finished the novel I started more than eight years ago? Do I write the new novel I feel really enthusiastic about? Do I try and get some shorter work published?

What do you do when you have too much to write but not enough time to do it? Can you work on two (or more) projects at once? Or do you have to finish one thing before moving on to the next?

I am really looking forward to the impending NaNoWriMo next month. At least that will make me get some of these words out of my system.

Tomorrow is a new day. Tomorrow I will at least write something.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Too many ideas and not enough time

  1. triSARAHtops says:

    Best of luck and congratulations on recapturing the muse!

  2. d3athlily says:

    I struggle with this, as well! I have two book series running around in my brain all the time, and about 10 other stories I want to write plus the stuff I have written that should be edited so I can try to publish it. But once I get a spare moment to write, they all beg my attention. All I do is I start typing to see which one dominates the others, but I’m pretty sure that isn’t what I’m meant to do. I’m looking forward to NaNoWriMo so I can focus on one thing. I’ll be interested to hear if you get an answer to this very challenging question. 🙂

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I imagine we are all very different when it comes to writing but I can never seem to get comfortable doing two things at once. It’s very frustrating! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

  3. Tara says:

    Me too. Also when I write for work during the day I seem to run out of words by the night 🙂 I’m thinking about trying NaNoWriMo.

  4. erika says:

    i totally feel you!! it’s practically the same as a student. i tend to write really slowly, so nanowrimo isn’t my thing?? the most i’ve done is camp nanowrimo:D all the best though!!

Leave a Reply

