Some Words of Advice For This Year’s NaNoWriMo-ers

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

There’s no getting around this, NaNoWriMo is brutal.

The idea itself is a wonderful thing. The thought of getting 50,000 words down on paper (er, typed on screen…) within a month is actually mind-blowing. If we’re being honest, many of us would be lucky to write that amount of words in a year.

I don’t know about the rest of you but I write because I feel I have to write, not always because I love the act of writing. Yes I enjoy bringing my stories, my characters, their lives, to life. I love reworking old clichés, perfecting sentence structure, creating the beautiful descriptions, but the actual, physical writing part… Well, let’s just say it’s stressful.

It can also be really rather lonely sometimes.

This is where the reader section on WordPress comes in handy. There are dozens of bloggers out there, just like me, sharing their NaNo experiences. It’s one big writing community full of talent, humour and determination.

While reading through some of my fellow bloggers’ posts, I came across Maya Rahman-Rios’ post “That Moment When You Find Your Thing”.

Here she explores finding an unexpected voice for a character and being able to roll with it.

The first year I “won” NaNo, I sat down ready to write a zombie novel. What happened on that cold November morning though was something entirely different. I sat at my desk and wrote about a first time mum and the emotions which went with it.

Of course it’s something that needs word but I’m proud of it and it opened my eyes up to the possibility of writing things outside of my comfort zone.

That’s one of the many great things about NaNo – you can tell your inner editor to do one. It’s all about you and your words, no matter how rough they may be. This is explored further in God Loving Woman’s post, Writers Write.

But hey, who’s worrying about the words while October planning is in full swing?

Certainly not That Scribbler – they’re too busy designing their front cover! I’m insanely jealous. I’d love to be able to do something like that.

If you do however want some motivation then you should really check out this little blog gem I happened to stumble upon.

The NaNoWriMo Boot Camp takes participants through from prep, writing 50k and all the way to revisions.

Do check out some of these recommendations, especially if you’re taking part in this year’s NaNo.

I will be posting more about my NaNo journey closer to the time so please follow me and pop back to see how it goes.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some Words of Advice For This Year’s NaNoWriMo-ers

  1. Pingback: Blogging 101: Zero to Hero (Day 24 – Publish a Roundup) | Newshound to Novelist

  2. Thanks for letting me know that my time was not at all wasted! 😉

    Also thanks for bringing all these “NaNo” blogs!

  3. Pingback: The Edge (Literary Lion Challenge – Week 7) | Newshound to Novelist

Leave a Reply

