Light Bulb (Literary Lion Challenge – Week 6)

This week’s Literary Lion challenge was the word sun – something we seem to be lacking in the UK now that winter approaches.

Thanks Laura for hosting.


Light Bulb

By Donna-Louise Bishop

12109025_938254519584741_4229705022515060530_n

It sometimes feels as if the sun has gone out, like a light bulb has blown above where I’m standing.

What once was warm and familiar is now dead to me – a stranger. Is this the beginning of the end?

I stand in front of the mirror and see changes, growth and development. Stretch marks from the birth of our children. I look behind me and see you, grabbing on to the past with relentless strength. PlayStation controller firmly in your grip.

(Words: 83)

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Light Bulb (Literary Lion Challenge – Week 6)

  1. Nice metaphor… the fading sunshine of youth. It’s a sad tale, I do hope that there is plenty of sunshine left in events that occur later in life!

Leave a Reply

