NaNoWriMo (Day 1)

Shield-Nano-Blue-Brown-RGB-HiRes

Words written: 1,721

Highs: Reaching today’s word count goal

Lows: Thinking every word I write is rubbish

Surprises: Writing a letter as my protagonist (I didn’t see that coming!)

Total words to date: 1,721

Extract (unedited): “When I’m on my own and the house is quiet, and the children and grandchildren have all returned back home to their own houses, I sometimes sit and think about how different things could have been.”


Untitled1

At about 11pm last night I was, in all honesty, just about ready to give up. I had no firm plan, definitely hadn’t had enough sleep and there were piles and piles of housework all over the house calling for me to crack on with it – I was at breaking point.

Today though, I forced myself to sit down and write, write, write. More than 1,700 words later and I want to share my excitement with the world!

This is what NaNo is all about. Pushing yourself, tying up your inner editor and hiding them in a cupboard for 30 days (remember to take them food and water) and achieving your dreams. No more excuses.

Still not convinced? Then read yesterday’s post on why you shouldn’t give up, here.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to NaNoWriMo (Day 1)

  1. Great job! We’ve about 6 more hours on this side of the pond, and I’m about 1000 words shy. Lots to do after bedtime!

  2. Jennifer G. Knoblock says:

    Congrats on your words for today! Love the idea of writing a letter as your protagonist.

  3. Great start! Well done!

  4. Pingback: ‘You already have your story’ – Self-published author B. Mamatha shares her top writing tips with Author Advice | Newshound to Novelist

Leave a Reply

