Knock, Knock

“Knock, knock.”
“Who’s there?”
“Harry.”
“Harry, who?”
“Harry up Mummy, I’m cold out here!”

It had been my son’s favourite joke for weeks.

No one knocked at our door now. His tiny green shoes rested on the mat there instead, collecting dust.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Knock, Knock

  1. Joe Ormerod says:

    How heartwrenching….

  2. theinnerzone says:

    It all starts as so playful and then quietly, the heart breaks…

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I’m so glad that came through. I knew it would end sad so I hoped others would read it with a playfulness before the ending.

  3. Stacie says:

    This is devastating. Oh my heart.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      It made me sad too 😥 it’s so strange when something like this pops into your head to write about. I guess it’s one of my biggest fears.

  4. So heart-wrenching. I can’t even imagine dealing with something like this! Brilliantly written. Love how you twisted from an innocent joke to a harsh reality. Well done! ♥

  5. Tina says:

    So sad, at the end. It hit me in the gut.

  6. rarasaur says:

    Oh my heart melted, then broke. ❤

  7. Very powerful take on the question. Thanks for this story! TiV

  8. Michaela Mitchell says:

    My heart hurts…

  9. Beeray says:

    That’s so sad. Hugs

Leave a Reply

