NaNoWriMo (Day 4)

Shield-Nano-Blue-Brown-RGB-HiRes
Words written: 4,011

Highs: Getting back up to speed with the daily NaNo target (today’s was 6,666 to be written by this point)

Lows: Not making my local write-in

Surprises: Finding a great little community online to write with

Total words to date: 6,802

Extract (unedited): “He wondered why these younger people bothered chatting online. One girl was chatting about lipstick and books she liked. It made a change from the sex and suicide talk on here, he guessed.”


Untitled1
I know, I know – My aim was 5,000 words today. But I’m not going to moan about writing 4,000 of them!

It was such a better writing day for me today. I was beginning to lose hope.

I must be the first to admit though, what I have written is really pretty dreadful. There are however a couple of little gems, ideas and one-lines that I’m sure will make it into the final draft. I must keep telling myself it’s about getting the words down at this stage. Editing comes later.

Unfortunately I was unable to make it to my local write-in tonight, so thank goodness for the online community I stumbled on!

My local area has a Facebook page for all of us taking part in the Norfolk area (UK) and I’ve been pleasantly surprised with how active it has been. People have been taking part in sprints on there all day. I even held a little one myself just to see me over the finish line tonight.

On that note – for all of those taking part in NaNo this year, one of my favourite resources has to be the @NaNoWordSprints on Twitter. It runs throughout the day, in a variety of time zones, and includes hilarious yet optional prompts. You really should give this a go if you’re struggling.

Anyway, that’s enough words from me for one day, but before I go let me share the best bit of advice I’ve had today for this stage of NaNo.

Aiming low is the best way to succeed.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo (Day 4)

  1. i think just participating in nanowrimo is a big deal! don’t worry about the editing, like you said, it’ll come later. good luck!

Leave a Reply

