The Edge (Literary Lion Challenge – Week 7)

I’m a teeny-tiny bit late with my Literary Lion piece again but because this week has seen the start of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), you can forgive me right?

Aw thanks – you guys are amazing!

I hope you will also extend that forgiving generosity when you see how short my piece is – but the reason for that is not due to lack of time…

Lately I have been really inspired to write microfiction – an even shorter style of writing flash fiction. Want to find out more? Well I would strongly suggest you take a look at what the team at Yeah Write are up to. It’s a great resource for writers and worth checking out.

Anyway, back to Literary Lion.

Just a reminder about what it is: The challenge, as always, is to tell a prompt-inspired tale in 400 words or less, in fourteen days. You can find out more about it here.

This fortnight’s prompt was ‘edge’. Thanks to Laura for hosting.

I hope you enjoy the photo which goes with this round’s piece. It is my very own literary lion, given to me by my dad when I was teeny-tiny myself.

Any feedback is always welcomed.


The Edge

By Donna-Louise Bishop

12193280_944699455606914_8081334819987472560_n

I’m standing on the edge of something big, only you don’t want to acknowledge that.

I have my wings tucked away safety in my backpack and I’m ready to go.

I want you to come and join me but I’m scared if we jump together that only one of us will fly.

(Words: 52)

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Edge (Literary Lion Challenge – Week 7)

  1. I love that last sentence, I’m sure we’ve all been there. Your lion is so lovely!

Leave a Reply

