Productive Things To Do When You Should Be Writing…

once-upon-a-time

That’s exactly what I should be doing – writing. But I’m not so I thought I would share some tips instead.

I hope you enjoy!

  1. Read a book: In order to be a great writer I strongly believe that you need to be a great reader. Don’t just stick to your favourite genres, branch out. There’s so much to learn from someone else’s words.
  2. Use prompts: Get a family member/friend to write down a few ideas in a hat and pick some out. They could be words, sentences, genres to write in. All sorts. You can also find loads of prompt generators online.
  3. Go for a walk/look at something different: Inspiration can be found everywhere and if you ever get stuck, the best way to unlock your inspiration is to jazz things up a bit.
  4. Buy something new: A new pen/notepad/laptop – hey, these things can always give you a quick little boost (okay so a laptop might be a bit excessive).
  5. Procrastinate: The worst thing ever! But set a time limit on it. Do a bit of housework, whatever, then force yourself to write once you’ve finished a task.

I hope this inspires you to get back to your words and start writing now!

And on that note, I will take some of my own advice…

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Productive Things To Do When You Should Be Writing…

  1. Reading to write is the best. One book I go back to on a regular basis is Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird, I am re-inspired every time. I am the best procrastinator in the world!

  2. michellelongo says:

    Great tips!

Leave a Reply

