Some NaNoWriMo inspiration please…

 
It’s been a difficult couple of days with NaNo, so it’s time to crack out the inspiration…

Tips/advice is welcomed 😊

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Some NaNoWriMo inspiration please…

  1. d3athlily says:

    I’ve been pretty inspired all week, but I know that feeling so well. This is the first year for NaNo that I feel like I can finish it. The difference this year was that I made writing a habit instead of being inspired. So far my book is pretty terrible, but I’ve worked to shut out that inner editor to just churn out the words. I’ve also found that I yield the most when I’m alone and just tune out the world. It helps that I have a hubby that understands this and gives me a lot of space when I’m writing…. dunno if that helps, but I know you can do it! You’re a fantastic writer! 😀

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I’ve had a couple of stressful days which I don’t think has helped. I aim to write at least a sentence tomorrow 😊 cheers for commenting – you’ve spurred me on!

  2. jenspenden says:

    Music is a huge inspiration for me. I tend to create book playlists on my iPod, as well as on YouTube. I especially like my YouTube playlists since they include images (music videos). This week, I’ve been obsessed with Lindsey Stirling’s “Shatter Me” (http://youtu.be/49tpIMDy9BE) and Ella Henderson’s “Ghost” (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=tA8AfQaUnXM#).

    You could also try moving around. I’m a nomad writer. I’ll write where I feel a good vibe (office, bed, kitchen floor, lol). Sometimes that’s all it takes for me to get in the groove.

    And if worse comes to worst, kill a character to mix things up. 😉

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I’ve never written to music so I think it wouldn’t hurt to give it a try! On the other hand I’ve been away from my usual desk for a couple of days and I think that has thrown me! Thanks for the tips 😊 it’s lovely to see your progress too Jen 😀

      • jenspenden says:

        I actually can’t write while listening to music. I need absolute silence in order to focus. But I desperately need music the rest of the time. It’s what triggers most of my ideas.

        And thank you! I’m really happy about things, even though I’m already thinking about a million changes I need to make, lol. But they’ll have to wait until I reach the 50k mark! :-p

  3. michellelongo says:

    Good luck! Last year I focused on my memoir but it was already a WIP so I knew what path I was on. I was thinking of starting a novel for this year but I think I need something I already have momentum on or else I’d get nowhere.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Do it! I sat down at the start of week three to write a zombie novel and wrote something completely different – which had just popped into my head – and completed 50,000 words! It was a shock that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

