Precious Dreams

Dreams.

I believe they are the most precious thing a person can have.

Call it what you like: aspirations, ambitions, hopes, wishes, plans. Our dreams are what make us feel human and alive.

My dream is to touch people with my words but I am often scared by the thought that they are not good enough.

Spelling, grammar, forming a sentence and the dos and don’ts of writing; all of these things can be difficult for some to grasp, but they can all be taught. To use the same words we are all given to create something beautiful and moving, now that can be a challenge.

I often read books or short stories and wish I had written them (or at the very least, I wish I had the idea first). Sometimes I read a sentence so beautifully constructed that I become torn between admiring it and slaying the green-eyed monster. Sometimes this fear of underachieving becomes too much.

It is easy to let life’s nuisances become excuses. The excuses as to why I didn’t write creatively any more started when I left university eight years ago. I blamed life. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve achieved a lot in those eight years, it’s just writing was always meant to be part of the deal.

(It doesn’t help when my parents tell me wonderful stories of talented 15-years-olds who have already published their latest best sellers.)

I urge anyone who is ready to give up on their dream to really dig deep and find the courage to see it through.

Sometimes there are reasons to put your dreams on hold and perhaps I shouldn’t be so hard on myself when I don’t spend all evening writing.

Life does get in the way of dreams but you should never let that beat you. Take a day off, heck take a week off, but never ever drift too far away from achieving your dreams.

After all, they really are the most precious thing a person can have.


*Today’s post is inspired by Yeah Write’s #NoMo and #NaNoWriMo.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Precious Dreams

  1. d3athlily says:

    I find it so funny what tortured souls we writers can be. I swear when I read your stuff, I think the same thing every time. How you’re such a better writer than I am, and how I wish I had a portion of your talent. I think it’s rather easy for us to lose ourselves in that too, but I’m glad you’re following your dream! And I can’t wait to read your book when it’s ready! 😀

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      We ARE tortured souls, aren’t we! Your words are very kind! I think the trick is to learn from each other rather than compare 😊

  2. Tilly says:

    I like this. I haven’t done any creative writing since undergrad, and I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately and wanting to take it up again. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Tina says:

    Or if you have the perfect idea for the greatest novel ever, and someone else writes that book. That sucks, too. But we keep on writing, because that is what we do.

  4. Beeray says:

    I so get this. I too wished I had the flair for writing they way some of the authors I follow. I am always second guessing myself and am quite relieved when a reader finds my piece and comments on it.

  5. Writing, gratifying and terrifying. And we keep at it.

  6. Stacie says:

    Yes, don’t give up! And most importantly, do it for you.

  7. Meg says:

    I second Stacie’s wise comment! Do it for you. Thank you for sharing what so many of us go through. Finding your voice opens the doors to better writing, and it only comes through practice. It doesn’t matter how old or young you are. Your voice is in you.

Leave a Reply

