Write for Yourself First

image

I strongly believe that first and foremost every writer should write for themselves. Simply because if you do not believe in what you are writing, then no one else will.

You want fame and fortune? Great! Ambition is never a bad thing and dreams are what keep us going. But make sure you are writing for all the right reasons.

All creative people will tell you how heartbreaking their art can be; you have ups and downs, good days and bad days, inspiration and blocks. It takes a lot of energy to create – especially for those who attempt to fit creativity into their every day lives.

(I stopped writing creatively for eight years – a massive mistake.)

Today I reached a milestone.

A kind blogger took the time to email me to let me know one of my short stories had touched them and that they had enjoyed reading it. I was confused at first – something I had written was enjoyed by someone else. It was a wonderful start to my day and I’m sure I will cherish that email for a long time to come.

This has given me a new-found confidence in my work, which is something I had been missing.

And on top of that fantastic surprise, that same story was also awarded the crowd favourite for this week’s Yeah Write fiction and poetry category. My jaw dropped to the floor when I found out. Not only did one person enjoy my piece but a handful of others deemed it worthy enough for their vote.

(The story is called The Moster and you can read it here.)

For anyone else who is feeling brave and wants to share their writing, please do check out Yeah Write. There’s so much to be learnt from their great community.

This year I have received more than 2,500 visits to my website and I cannot express my gratitude for the support that has been shown to me since starting the blog and sharing my work.

May it long continue.

Good luck my fellow artists – you already have my support.

12071722_10153044621001401_1585519372_n

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write for Yourself First

  1. Hello from Yeah Write! I definitely agree with you that you have to write for yourself first and foremost. Understanding your audience and all that is important – but if you don’t care about what you’re writing, how can you expect anyone else to. Congrats on your milestone!

Leave a Reply

