Bedtime Promise (Yeah Write #240 microstory)

They look at me with tired eyes as I tuck them into bed.

Every night ends the same, with a promise to have lots of fun again when the morning comes.

But sometimes I cannot be fun mummy and responsibility overwhelms me.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bedtime Promise (Yeah Write #240 microstory)

  1. Liv says:

    You and me both.

  2. Stacie says:

    So true. But it’s certainly more fun to be fun mom!

  3. jhiabeys says:

    Overwhelms is the perfect word.

  4. innatejames says:

    I could never be a parent, the guilt and worry would make me ineffectual.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      The worry I feel I can handle, being a natural worrier anyway. The guilt? Well the guilt is just something else. I feel another story coming on…

  5. Joe Ormerod says:

    I can sure understand that! And how much tougher for the single moms? Touching.

Leave a Reply

