NaNoWriMo (Day 6*)

Shield-Nano-Blue-Brown-RGB-HiRes

Words written: 999

Highs: Getting words of encouragement that the story I am writing is worth writing

Lows: Not adding one extra word to make 1,000 for my daily total! What was that about?

Surprises: Writing on a Kindle Fire – without an actual keyboard – is really uninspiring

Total words to date: 8,853

Extract (unedited): “He is wearing deep blue jeans, the same faux-jeans texture of toddler trousers. They hang loose over his legs and groin but are pulled up tight to his waist, secured by a black leather belt, which looks as dated as your granddad’s  collection of belts. His thin cotton jumper, which also looks as if it had seen better days, is tucked into his trousers and a white t-shit pokes out of the collar. His dark hair flops about over his freshly shaven face. He looks thin and gangly.”


 

Untitled1

It was hard to write this section today.

My writing session started out great. I met with friends for a write-in, caffeine was flowing, sprints were happening, advice was shared.

During our penultimate sprint I finished the chapter I had been working on so I decided to be bold with our final sprint and move on to the next chapter. I didn’t plan on writing a physical description of someone who is really not very pleasant in my novel.

I felt rather sick while I wrote it to be honest.

I imagine this would have been fine but I had to leave mid-sprint to meet with my granddad for lunch. If I had stayed and talked it out I’m sure I would have felt better about things.

I guess sometimes there are things which are better written alone.

*Please note that although this is my day six of NaNo, we are actually on day 18 now. Yes, yes, I know I’m falling behind. Am I worried? Well, er, yes actually!

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

