The Road (Yeah Write #246 Microstory)

He didn’t see it coming.

A loud bang, noisy like a bullet being shot, was followed by a sickening crunch; The car bonnet had collided with the boy’s back.

As the impact sent him sprawling across the road, the ball rolled away.


About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Road (Yeah Write #246 Microstory)

  1. Christine says:

    Ooof–a parent’s worst fear, or one of them.

  2. Joe Ormerod says:

    Wow, and I thought I’d have the darkest post this week…you beat me, hands down!

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      You’ll see in a previous comment, but the first chapter of I Let You Go has been on my mind every since I read it. I think that’s where this came from!

  3. Yikes! That sounds terrifying..

  4. c2avilez says:

    Tragic! It doesn’t sound good for the boy.

  5. Meg says:

    Wow. A tragic take on the prompt. You did a great job of putting the reader in the moment.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I always get nervy when I see kids with balls or on roller skates/skate boards near the road… Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

  6. Ouch. That doesn’t sound fun!

Leave a Reply

