Air (Yeah Write #249 – Microstory)

I wanted to know how far down it went, so swam until it turned dark and cold.

As I floated to the surface I feared I wouldn’t make it in time.

The Verdon River was 700 metres deep. It still haunts me.


 

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Air (Yeah Write #249 – Microstory)

  1. d3athlily says:

    Oh, man, that scares me! I can’t imagine being in water that deep.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      It was terrifying. My mum recalls turning to my dad and saying “where’s Donna gone?” Because I’d been under for so long. I’m half-tempted to write a longer non-fiction piece about it!

  2. Yikes…that sounds frightening!

  3. Jennifer G. Knoblock says:

    That moment when you realize you’ve done a really dumb thing, and how a near-miss can haunt. I shudder for the parents, too.

  4. innatejames says:

    I can see why this memory haunts. Was it your first realization that you weren’t indestructible?

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Yes, one of them. The other one was after the body of Sarah Payne was discovered. It spurred the Sarah’s Law initiative over here. I think you guys had something similar in America – Megan’s Law? It’s weird looking back on things through adult eyes.

  5. Christine says:

    I don’t think I could have made myself go that deep in the first place!

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I still don’t know what was going on in my head to be honest! I was obviously having a brave day 😂 I didn’t go back in after that though.

  6. I think I’m traumatized. A part of me wonders though what it would be like to dive deep.

  7. Joe Ormerod says:

    Reminds me of the 12′ end of the pool at the YMCA where I took swimming lessons. Picking up rings from the bottom and wondering if you’d been down too long…scary for a 7 yr. old.

  8. Beeray says:

    I love the open sea but get extremely afaird if I swim too far away from my boat.

Leave a Reply

