Are you there voice? It’s me, Donna – (Yeah Write #250 – Non-Fiction)

When did I lose my voice?

I last remember having it a couple of months back when blogging was still fun, when I made time to publish posts, and before I became bogged down with life.

The aim of the blog was to share my thoughts with other people, as well as sharing my writing.

Now it seems as if the writing has taken over but my own thoughts are non-existent.

So where did I leave my voice? It’s such an odd thing to lose.

At first I thought I’d left it in my draft folder but then I remembered that was empty. Whatever the answer is, wherever I lost or left it, I must carry on. And if I cannot find it, I will just start a new one.

 


 

I love taking part in writing challenges and competitions but it seems as if I have buried my voice so deep into my writing, I have forgotten to share my own thoughts.

When I was at university we use to critique each other’s work. I really enjoyed discussing words and writing with other like-minded people – or in some cases not so like-minded.

I could almost hear my brain weight-lifting as it attempted to figure out what my eyes were looking at.

The enjoyment of learning how to talk about things didn’t end there and as the years go on I am becoming braver, finally finding the confidence to talk about things I believe in.

Unfortunately, it seems as if this is a skill which can easily become rusty.

So maybe I haven’t actually lost my voice then. I’ve probably just let it dry up, forgetting to fuel it with much-needed time, inspiration and love.

Well no more.

It’s time to head inside my mind to the garden centre of fresh starts and plant – once again – the little seedling of voice. I will place her directly in the sun this time and water with encouragement every single day.

I must remember that although voice in any story is phenomenally important, my own voice must not be forgotten either.

After all, behind every Scout, Katniss and Hermione, there’s a Lee, Collins and Rowling wanting to speak out.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Are you there voice? It’s me, Donna – (Yeah Write #250 – Non-Fiction)

  1. mrsclark6 says:

    I understand Donna. Every few days I realize I have nothing to write about. And actually when I can write is usually the time when my children need me and I have no chance of getting anything down on paper or computer screen. It’ll come back. That’s what I tell myself. It’ll come back!

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thanks for your encouraging words and for taking the time to read and comment! It felt good to get that off my chest.

  2. Nortina S. says:

    Some days, I feel like I’ve permanently lost my voice. Staring at a blank page for hours can be disheartening. Then suddenly I have this rush of creative inspiration, and my fingers can’t keep up with all the ideas pouring from my head. I don’t know where it comes from, but sometimes, I believe, hot beverages help. 🙂

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I will make sure to get the kettle on more often! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I’m glad I’m not the only one 😊

  3. d3athlily says:

    I’ve been working on this all year (I know… that’s not even a month, but I’m trying to be dramatic), and I’ve found the key has been consistency. It’s pretty hard sometimes, but I make myself sit down and write for at least 15min a day about anything. I hope you can get to that point too! And that we can both maintain it. Haha

  4. What a truthful post. I find myself searching for my voice, and worse, having moments when someone else’s voice takes over… Keep at it, and definitely let the sun shine in.

  5. Meg says:

    I know exactly how this feels. I feel pressured to write something brilliant but that leads me to write without authenticity which leads me to hate my writing and then I feel especially pressured to write. How crazy is that? Truth is, voice only comes with daily writing, I think. You get used to your voice like you would your mate’s; you trust it and let it speak because it becomes as comfortable as an old shoe. Now if only I could remember this. 😉 Don’t give up, Donna-Louise.

  6. Oh…”After all, behind every Scout, Katniss and Hermione, there’s a Lee, Collins and Rowling wanting to speak out.” Loved this. You can write so many words and have nothing of you in most of them.

  7. Pingback: yeah write #251 weekly writing challenge kickoff

  8. Pingback: yeah write #251 weekly writing challenge is open for fiction|poetry - yeah write

Leave a Reply

