Stick Man is Real!

What better way to spend a Sunday afternoon, than by talking a walk in the chilly spring outdoors? Well, that is exactly what we did a couple of weeks ago.

My eldest is happy stomping in muddy puddles while nibbling on biscuits supplied by the magic elves living in his granddad’s pockets. While my youngest has only just started walking, so as long as he is left out of the pushchair to walk in the tall wet grass he is also quietly content.

It’s the imagination of my eldest that makes these walks especially entertaining though.

Parking near to the Blickling Hall estate (the free bit – yes, that’s how we roll) we snow-suited and welly-booted up before embarking on our adventure into the wild.

It wasn’t long before Adam spotted a fallen down tree that he wanted to climb on, so while James plodded along with his Nanny and Granddad each holding a hand, I raced after him.

We hadn’t been by the tree for very long before I heard a scream: “IT’S STICK MAN MUMMY!”

I looked down at his little red cheeks and beaming smile to see that in his hands, he was holding what looked like a real-life Stick Man.

10264233_1012658932144299_6311327433301892195_o

Fans of children’s author, Julia Donaldson, will already be familiar with this little chap:

StickMan_SeparateElemensts_A5b-RESIZE-FOR-WEB

It absolutely made his day.

As for the rest of walk; He spent it mumbling “I’m Stick Man, I’m Stick Man, I’m Stick Man, that’s me” in between mouthfuls of biscuits.

 


 

Donna-Louise Bishop is a freelance journalist and lead creative writing tutor at Write Norfolk. This article was first published in March 2016

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

