The Compliment

antiqued-image-1036665_1920.jpg

 

I think I hurt your feelings last week.

You gave me the most beautiful compliment while our boys were asleep in the back of the car and the sun was shining through the window.

I scoffed and yelled “bullshit”.

You looked annoyed because your words had been rejected and you vowed you wouldn’t bother offering them again.

I sounded ungrateful but I wasn’t, really.

You quickly changed the subject and fiddled with the air conditioning to make it cooler to reduce the flush from your cheeks.

I am sorry. I was just embarrassed.

You took me by surprise.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Compliment

  1. I like the punchiness of the short lines interspersed. Also how the first and last lines together say it all.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thank you. I wanted to make it a snapshot of quite a memorable moment in their relationship.

  2. ellenbehm says:

    Why does a compliment bring up so much discomfort? I think you captured that moment very well.

  3. d3athlily says:

    It’s so easy for us, as women, to discount the words said by our significant others. You showed that so well here!

Leave a Reply

