Seven Sentence Review of Becoming Unbecoming by Una

Becoming Unbecoming

by Una

*****

13412931_1074031329340392_1243549538485570071_n


There is something almost majestic about this stunningly dark yet poignant graphic novel. Even as I held it for the first time I knew it was going to be rather special.

Becoming Unbecoming spoke volumes to me with its on point remarks and observations about abuse, growing-up and genre differences. The author’s own ordeal runs alongside a sinister national news story which makes the impact even more powerful – especially the final illustrations which gave me chills.

It made me cry, it made me want to hide, and then it made me give myself a hug. Very profound, beautiful and real and one of the best things to ever appear on my bookshelf.

I now understand the power of the graphic novel.

 

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seven Sentence Review of Becoming Unbecoming by Una

  1. Beeray says:

    I felt like that when I read Room

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I have that on my reading list for this year. There’s some great work out there at the moment!

  2. Donna-Louise Bishop says:

    Just finished Room! My word… Read it in a day as I couldn’t put it down.

Leave a Reply

