Too Tame – YW #289

I wish I had strength inside of me.

An ambition to fly away

into the sky above us.

To soar and to be free,

to wish and to dream

Until nothing

remains but

orange

sun.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Too Tame – YW #289

  1. d3athlily says:

    Lovely nonet, DL! Soooo relatable! Therwe was a tiny error, though. It’s soar instead of sore. 😘

  2. I definitely understand this feeling! The ending of the poem is particularly nice to me – it’s inspiring, while also a little ominous? I’m reminded of Icarus.

  3. Some really nice sounds in this, giving stress to these important words–me, free, dream. I like the idea that it takes strength to let go.

  4. Christine says:

    What intrigued me here was “ambition” – the idea that it’s not just about strength, it’s about motivation. What we’re left with is a sort of wistful resignation.

  5. oldendaysk says:

    I like what Christine said..wistful resignation. But also I find a challenge in your words! I’d leave the sore word in if it was a piece written just for me. If I were to fly away, which I dream of way more than I should, I know it was cause sores to my family and friends. Not talking about suicide, just the dream of getting out of some parts of my life. But the ‘sore’ is not one I can ever open. Whoa, more than you bargained for in a comment I bet. lol

  6. rubybastille says:

    I love the imagery in the last four lines!

Leave a Reply

