It’s Time

Give it a go, it said.

But I’m too scared, she said.

You’ll never know if you don’t try, it said.

I wish I had a crystal ball, she said.

Be brave, it said.

What if I fail, she said.

You never know – it might be the best thing to ever happen to you, they said.

 

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Time

  1. I like the “If” of this–we don’t know whether the speaker is going to try or not, whether it will turn out well or not…but we can sympathize with both the desire to try and the fear.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Absolutely. So many unanswered questions here and feelings of uncertainty. I think that’s how I felt when I wrote it!

  2. innatejames says:

    This is my inner monologue whenever I sit down to write. Well, add a few lines at the beginning where I say I need Cheetos and coffee and then it’s exact.

  3. rubybastille says:

    I was curious who or what “it” and “they” were in the poem. The “be brave” response could be interpreted as the answer from the crystal ball, but the others are open-ended.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I think it lends itself to be open to interpretation, but when I wrote it I imagined it to be an inner voice and then the final line of dialogue is the internal and external voices coming together.

Leave a Reply

