Playing House

shutters-669296_1920-2

Playing House

She unwrapped the new candle holders. One, Two,

Three.

He turned his eyes away from the mantelpiece, to gaze

at the TV.

Playing house had been such a popular game

they shared.

Now one had moved on from conforming

as much as he dared.

 

It no longer mattered if they had a house or a home,

Freshly made meals now replaced by the contents of the freezer.

She would continue to play wife

and hope one day to be mother.

While he would continue to wish the days away,

forgetting their promises to one another.


 

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a freelance reporter and creative writing tutor living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. I blog. Wife to Ben, mummy of two young boys. Cake rocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Playing House

  1. Oh this is so sad! I love this poem , DL, but it made my heart do flips. I feel bad for the girl in your poem. Great job!

  2. d3athlily says:

    Wow. This was so sad. I have to admit, I might have had to read it a couple of times to get all the little nuances but I’m so glad I did. I liked the style choice as well! It brought emphasis where there would be none otherwise.

  3. innatejames says:

    I liked how the features of the household served as props in their marriage (the mantelpiece, the candle holders). They made me think the relationship had some history to it.

  4. rubybastille says:

    “Gaze” is a great word choice – it sets up early on how detached the husband has become. And the first line of the second stanza is so nuanced.

Leave a Reply

