My Own Way

Like a cat with a full stomach, satisfied only by a bowl of cool milk, I slip silently out of his constrictive bedsheets.

No goodbye would sound right, no excuse plausable, so instead I walk away without vocalising the unbelievable lie I had already decided on.

You do not move.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Own Way

  1. Interesting. Better, perhaps, to leave the lie unspoken. The last line confirms the lie was unnecessary – he is undisturbed by her leaving.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Yes perhaps, although I do think he is so comfortable in whatever this relationship is that he hasn’t considered she would leave the way she does. I’m still questioning who is the bad guy in this scenario though.

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

  2. I like the starting simile, but I’m left wondering. Is this man the bowl of cool milk that has sated the cat’s appetite? Or is this woman, who is now full from this man, looking for a ‘bowl of cool milk’ elsewhere? It’s kind of funny how she has concocted a great explanation in her mind, and he doesn’t even notice her slipping away. Well done.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thank you so much. It’s an interesting question, isn’t it? I personally think she’s looking for the next bowl of cool milk, only she doesn’t realise that this man may have been more than that… Very sad.
      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

  3. Tony Lovell says:

    That last line says a lot, in my opinion. The other person doesn’t move when the main character leaves the bed, yes, but it speaks as the lie itself–“you do not move” in this relationship, like the other person doesn’t reciprocate something (probably affection). Oh, so good!

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thank you! I think in my head I knew there were many emotions and unanswered questions for both parties in this piece so I’m pleased with the comments left by people so far.

      Thank you so much for taking the time out to read and comment on my piece.

  4. I love the image of slinking, cat-like, quietly out forever without disturbing her complacent partner.

  5. saroful says:

    I like the middle section – the contrast between what feels right in the moment and what we’ve built up in our minds, and the satisfaction of each. (Is the shift from “his” to “you” deliberate? I’m trying to figure out how to reconcile the first and third segments in my head. They’re both intriguing in their own right, I’m just attempting to fit them together.)

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thanks Rowan. I think the intention was that he goes from being just a ‘him’ into a more wistful and three-dimensional ‘you’ as the narrator second-guesses herself and wonders if there’s more to be had from this relationship/cycle that she is in. Hopefully that makes the sort of sense I wanted it to. Thanks for your comment and taking the time to read my micro. It means a lot 🙂

  6. That first line got me!

  7. Constructive bedsheets is an interesting. I think white, crisp, hospital corners. Is he too unbending or is she too indecisive? That’s what it makes me think.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Oh I’m so pleased it made you think this as there are so many questions and contradictions here that certainly centres around those thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

