The Little Things

I have a collection of special, yet random, artefacts placed on a shelf above my writing desk.

Here is a list of what they are:

  • A winner’s 2013 NaNoWriMo trophy
  • A handmade 30th birthday card given to me by my granddad before he passed away
  • A lump of volcanic rock given to my by a dear writing friend, with two special grooves to symbolise my two sons (before we knew there would be a third)
  • A miniature cat moneybox given to me by my parents as a joke (I’m always broke…)
  • A handwritten poem which was handed out for free in my local supermarket
  • A sticker with the number 52 on it for an audition as a scare actor
  • A Linda Belcher from Bob’s Burgers figure bought for me as a present from my husband
  • A quill, which was another present from my husband
  • A glass paperweight with my university logo printed on it
  • A brass horse ornament I’ve had since I was a teenager
  • (And finally) an R2D2 USB stick, because I thought it was cool not because I like Star Wars

For such a small room this seems like a mighty big collection of little trinkets to own. I’m not even sure why I’ve kept most of them but they seem to have become an integral part of me. They are like mini, frozen cheerleaders which encourage me with my writing every time I sit down at the computer.

18519608_1398077723602416_5711662292093842740_n

Sometimes it’s not enough to love the process or the final story. Sometimes I need more than that and I can’t expect my loved ones to be a constant source of encouragement. So it’s nice to know I have this little selection of ‘things’ to give me an unspoken boost when I need it.

I’m not sure which item does what exactly to keep me going but knowing they are they to share and witness the blood, sweat, and tears I produce while sitting here crafting and constructing is enough.


 

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Little Things

  1. erin5cents says:

    I appreciate the detailed significance of each item, but I think your reader might be grabbed with the explanation before the list. You kind of lost my “so what?” about three items in, though the theme is genuine and I did enjoy the essay.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thanks for the feedback! It IS a rather long list isn’t it? I did wonder if it would be a bit distracting early on so thanks for your honesty – it’s appreciated.

  2. d3athlily says:

    Naww, DL! Your trinkets remind me of my little happy corner I have a work filled with random oddities to keep me sane through the day. Having inanimate objects as a source of encouragement when there may be none from those around you is a thing I know a thing or two about. Still, I’ll have to say that after a few of the items on your list, I started to skim, but I was renewed once you showed the shelf.

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I surprised myself how many there were when I started typing! Haha. Thanks for your feedback x

  3. DL I loved your list of trinkets 🙂 I appreciate it it mostly because my daughter is like that too. She has a collection of things on her dresser, all odds and ends with a story and connection.

    I wish there was a bit more of a “so what” too, but I’m super happy to see you back on the grids 🙂

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Thanks D! Yes I defo need to nail that ‘so what’ more. Thanks for commenting and feedback.

Leave a Reply

