The Prompt Pot – Curry

It is finally here! The very first Prompt Pot writing challenge.

It is week one of Newshound to Novelist’s new weekly micro fiction feature, and today I pulled from the pot a sky blue strip of paper with the word ‘curry‘ written across it.

Fotor_149649149482871 (2)

I’m not even going to apologise that I had this tin in my cupboard in order to take this photo – mainly because it’s my husband’s.

So go ahead and pen your own micro story of 100 words or less, using the prompt ‘curry’. You can interpret it or use it in whatever way you want.

Remember to pingback to this page and include the tag ‘The Prompt Pot’ so we can find your efforts in the WordPress reader.

The best of luck to you all.

Now, without further ado, here is my curry inspired micro…


Since You’ve Been Gone

by

Donna-Lousie Bishop

Not for the first time that week, the feeling of her guts being on fire woke her up with a jolt. Too much vindaloo and Dr Pepper she concluded, while her body gripped the toilet like a shy toddler wrapped around their mother.

The sound of next door’s dogs barking shot through the bathroom window – the norm for 5am. Usually bellows from the owner would scare them into silence until 7am. There was no one to quieten the cats though.

Before he left, she used to sleep better. She ate better too. She decided she would prepare porridge this morning.

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Prompt Pot – Curry

  1. Sara says:

    Hi Donna, I would love to participate but my blog is on blogger am I am not sure if pingbacks work on blogger?

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Hi Sara. Thanks for messaging! Feel free just to pop the link to your piece in the comments section instead 😊

  2. Sara says:

    Hi Donna, thanks for the prompt.Here’s my 100-word story:
    http://sarasid.blogspot.com/2017/06/did-she-get-it-right.html

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      Such a powerful take on the prompt! I have left more detailed comments on your own blog. I hope you’ll join us again next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

