‘Write with passion and genuine desire’ – Writer Christie Barlow shares her tips with Author Advice

Christie Barlow

Talented Ladies (2)

In her own words:

“I’m a 5ft 5in brunette born in the county of Cheshire and now, at the ripe old age of 44, I lead nothing but a glamorous lifestyle: ironing, mucking out chickens and chasing after my mad cocker spaniel. I’m a mum to four, wife to one and my writing career came as somewhat of a surprise! Upon hitting my mid-life crisis (but dodging the tattoo and the sports car) after wholly dedicating my life to the care of my children, they asked me what I wanted to do in life while we were discussing their career options.

‘I’ve always wanted to write a book,’ I found myself answering, and so the notion was born.

“I self-published my first book, A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother which became the talk of the town and hit the charts. Within three months I’d landed myself an agent, a book deal with Bookouture and recently signed to HarperCollins imprint HarperImpulse.

“I’ve written six books to date, A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother, The Misadventures of a Playground Mother, Kitty’s Countryside Dream, Lizzie’s Christmas Escape, Evie’s Year of Taking Chances and The Cosy Canal Boat Dream which is out on August 22. I’m currently working on book number seven to be published by HarperImpulse, but at the moment the story line is a secret!”

christie barlow facebook2 (2)

167894-FC50 (2)

 


 

My Three Top Tips for Writers

1. Write and write often
No amount of writing tips will help you discover the kind of writer you truly are, but to be a writer you have to write… Often and every day! You need to write with passion and genuine desire. Stand out from the crowd. Start with a prologue that makes the reader think, that gets them hooked and gives them an idea of what the story is about. They want oomph, not the yawn factor, readers need to grab hold of something. And finally don’t over describe things. I’ve read numerous books and the descriptions are over-egged. Part of the reader’s enjoyment is building up their own picture from the clues that the author provides.

2. Make your characters convincing
It may sound daft but my characters speak to me, I have numerous conversations going on in my head until the final edits are done. You need to make your characters convincing, make other people believe they want to be them, know of them, relate to them or have them as a friend. After each book I’ve finish writing I truly feel bereft. I have days when I’m subdued and need them back in my life. For the time I’m writing their story, they are a huge part of my life.

3. Develop a thick skin!
One thing I’ve learnt about being is a writer is only accept criticism if you respect the source. The second you do something different and stand out from the crowd prepare yourself for a massive outcry. You can’t please all of the people all of the time and don’t even try. Write what makes you happy and don’t get involved in on-line rows. Walk away, and don’t feed their negativity. Usually negative reviews comes from someone you know, maybe jealously, some people just cannot be pleased, who knows! But, I’ve learnt to turn any negativity into a positive, every review good or bad helps the amazon algorisms it shows your book is been bought and read … win win! Look at your sales figures and if your books are selling, then there you go … all publicity is good publicity!


 

You can find out more about Christie via her Amazon page, website, or Facebook and Twitter.

Her latest book – The Cosy Canal Boat Dream – is out on August 22.

 

About Donna-Louise Bishop

I'm a writer, freelance reporter, creative writing tutor, and blogger, living in the beautiful county of Norfolk UK. In my spare time I am also a wife, a mother to three boys, and a human washing machine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Write with passion and genuine desire’ – Writer Christie Barlow shares her tips with Author Advice

  1. castorpblog says:

    Thanks, very encouraging!

    • Donna-Louise Bishop says:

      I have to admit, these have to be some of my favourite tips I’ve read as part of this monthly feature. I’m also very encouraged and will be hitting the word count on my MS hard this week!

Leave a Reply

